Skip to main navigation.

Summary of EMC Bylaws for Annual Meeting

Article I:
Section I and II.
Any person, firm or corporation who is in the service area of the cooperative, may become a member of the cooperative by paying the membership fee, agreeing to purchase electric energy from the cooperative, and agreeing to comply with and by the articles of incorporation, the bylaws, and any rules and regulations set by the Board and by being accepted for membership by the members.

Article II.
Section I.
The date and place for the Annual Meeting of Members shall be set by Board resolution each year as long as the date is between April 30 and November 1, within a county served by the cooperative, which shall be designated in the notice of the meeting. This year’s Annual Meeting will be held on Saturday, August 28, 2021, at the cooperative’s headquarters in Barnesville.

Article III.
Section I. The business and affairs of the cooperative shall be managed by the Board of 9 members.

Section VI. Board members shall be elected by majority vote of the members present and voting in person or by proxy except in the case of a contested election which shall be conducted by mail in ballot. (Note: Three directors will be elected at the Aug. 28, 2021 meeting.)

Section IV. Not less than 140 days before the date of the Annual Meeting, the Board shall appoint a Nominating committee of 5 to 11 members, who shall prepare a list of nominations for Directors and post in the cooperative office prior to the meeting. Any 150 or more members may make nominations by petition not less than one hundred (100) days prior to the meeting. Notice of Annual Meeting, including nominations by the committee and nominations by petition, shall be mailed at least 5 days before the meeting. There will be no nominations from the floor. 

Southern Rivers Energy’s 2021 Nominating Committee:
Clifford Barber, Barnesville; Chuck Bell, Woodbury; Eddie English, Zebulon; Jeremy Coleman, Gay; Jeff B. Haygood III, Yatesville; William P. Sanders Sr., Lizella; Chad Thompson, Barnesville; Bennie Bostick, Forsyth; Paul Wallace, Yatesville

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo